Kurbeats – Folktronica

Folktronica is the mutant child of Scandinavian Folk music and Electronica.

This album sets out to discover this new path. It blends acoustic instruments and jojk captured in the Kurbeats studio with digitally rendered soundscapes created by Andreas and Mathias.

Backed up by Scandinavian tradition and with their roots deep within the electronic music scene it lends itself to a bigger crowd, this album is for everyone.

Kurbeats takes you on a journey, from a shaman’s tent, a wild ride through the kosmos to the heart. With this release the duo continues their story, that began with Yggdrasil – Prose Edda. Only, this is the true beginning.

Folktronica gives you what Prose Edda merely hinted. So hold on to your seats, here we go!


M.E.E.O is a Swedish producer of emotionally intelligent house and techno. Beyond the rigidity and seriousness that sometimes impede the evolution of these styles, his 20 years of experience have equipped him to build each of his arrangements around more sincere, heartfelt concepts.

In spite of an eclectic musical journey spanning the breadth of the globe, M.E.E.O (born Mathias Eriksson) has spent the past decade of his career exploring the more intellectual depths of the electronic music spectrum. It’s proven worth the wait. Just as he likens his creative process in the studio to pulling a loose strand from a ball of yarn, his career as a whole has been an exercise in patience that has yielded a rich and dynamic signature sound in recent years. As a result, he now boasts releases on Drumcode, Riot Recordings, and Re:Sound Music.

Born and raised in the rural outskirts of Gothenburg, M.E.E.O’s childhood fascination with the outdoors gave him keen attention to detail from an early age. While he cites songs by rock bands like Queen and Genesis as his earliest musical influences, discovering the track “Das Boot” by German dance music duo U96 around age 10 ignited a passion for techno that still burns to this day.

That’s not to say he followed a predictable course by any means. After outgrowing mainstream techno artists like Members of Mayday and Marusha, he convinced his father to buy him an MC-303 synthesizer and learned to produce gabber house, playing underground events and forest parties in and around Gothenburg and Stockholm.

However, the emergence of Goa trance in the late ‘90s would draw him along his most unexpected musical tangent.

M.E.E.O landed his first professional gig at the inaugural edition of the Romanian psytrance festival Transylvania Calling around the turn of the millennium. Between then and 2008 he released a studio-length psytrance album titled Highlight Me Please, performed a series of gigs throughout Australia, and even collaborated with Dark Nebula and Electrypnose on a the Beatport chart-climbing singles “Racked my Brain” and “Spirit Cave.”

As he matured, he began to favor a more timeless stylistic range of the electronic music spectrum. A fellow Swede, John H, pushed him to produce more house and techno, and from 2013-2015, the two of them released dozens of tracks through Gothenburg label Event Horizon. M.E.E.O and John H’s most celebrated release to date is “Bergsjön Eternal,” their collaboration with Swedish DJ/producer Petter B which came out on Adam Beyer’s Drumcode imprint in 2014.

As varied as his career has been, only recently has M.E.E.O truly come into his own as a world-class producer. In 2016 he refined his creative process down to a science. After jamming out melodies and drum patterns on analog machines until he identifies the emotional core of each arrangement, he now adds and removes layers through a painstaking process of sound synthesis. What results is a style of tech house whose vibrant musicality is matched only by its crisp, seamless production values.

All too often, house and techno producers resign themselves to a formula – but M.E.E.O’s journey as a producer has given him a more developed sense of musical identity. If his trajectory is any indicator, the best is yet to come. Now that he’s determined the ideal means of communicating such powerful concepts, he will surely be an artist to watch in the years to follow.

VA: Misty Grove from DopeDeer Records

DopeDeer Records founded by Leśna Szajka Crew – party organizers from Poland – is proud to presents the debut VA: Misty Grove. Take a trip into psychedelic forest. Let the DopeDeer would be your guide this misty night. During the journey you will meet your well known friends and one new forest freak – CumHau. At the very beginning M.E.E.O. will enter with you misty dark forest. Stay fearless. You will be save with him. Don’t forget say ”Hi!” to Gojja while you be in the swampy area. Dance together with CumHau, Dohm and Goch in the magical field. Visit the darkest side of the Misty Grove with Medra, Muscaria & Kithain. Freak out with Whrikk after digests his unique mixture. Finally let M.E.E.O. take you back from this crazy trip in the woods.

Try to solve DopeDeer records riddle and learn about true DopeDeer Records mission!

Go after the guide named M.E.E.O. during your Misty Grove journey. He wouldn’t be  next to you inthe deep woods experience  but will be responsible for safe entrance and exit out of the Misty Grove. Learn  more from him about why Owls Are Not What They Seem and listen to the tale about Cooper In The Woods. FOLLOW THE DEER!

Buy on Psyshop

Event Horizon



Gothenburg based label founded in 2013 by John H & M.E.E.O, focusing on acid, electro, techno and related styles. Releasing music from a small roster of dedicated artists from both Europe and the US, every release is unique, skipping the usual formulaic structures of other labels, giving the artists maximum freedom of expression, passing on their love and passion for the music to the listener.

M.E.E.O – Highlight Me Please

MEEO - Highlight Me PleaseThis is my debut album, and first release on a label. But, that was way back… Huge thanks to Deamon Tea Recordings for releasing it!


1 Grow To Become A Child 8:12
2 Loads Of Laughter 8:52
3 Ball Of Gum 8:53
4 Lowrider Mono To Phono 8:47
5 Dumble My Humble 8:38
6 Mandelbitter 8:30
7 Recorde De La Tisco 7:33
8 Not As Animal As An Animal 7:37
9 Everyone Is Looking 8:46


 Reviewed by: hexakosioi December 18, 2008

”Listen people, we are obviously in a time of new fresh ideas, and in my book ”meeo Highlight Me Please” holds a righteous place here. This is some good stuff here. I just adore smart music; music that teases your mind flirts with it. There is a great element of metamorphesim in almost every track. Sort of reminds me of M-C-Escher’s paintings. The music constantly evolves and transformes into different though relative patterns.

Most of the tracks are ok to be honest, but as I said before it tries to make you think what the next move is. So it is very creative. That being said, Dumble My Humble is one of the best songs I have heard in a while, it is simply superb.

I also love how the artist plays with names here. Get it if you want fun and creative music.”